About us

Shropshire Youth Association is a Registered Charity and independent, voluntary organisation open to all VCS youth clubs in Shropshire.

Our Registered Charity number is 1172685 (formerly 518488)


THE ASSOCIATION SETS OUT TO:

  • Provide training for leaders and young people
  • Provide information and resources to groups, leaders and young people
  • Provide a broad county-wide programme of events and activities
  • Support the development of existing groups
  • Encourage the groups, leaders and members to play an active role in the Association and its activities
  • Help new groups to get started
  • Advocate on behalf of young people

WHEN VISITING YOUR GROUP OUR SUPPORT WORKERS CAN PROVIDE:

  • Information on SYA activities and events
  • Support and training for club leaders and management committees
  • General help and advice
  • Help with specific problems
  • Specific programme inputs
  • Information on training opportunities
  • Advice and help with recruiting, selecting and training volunteers
  • Ideas and opportunities for increasing young people’s involvement

OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE TO AFFILIATED YOUTH GROUPS:

  • Insurance -  public liability insurance is an essential part of running a youth club. This, and a wide range of other policies, are available through BJK Insurance, who can be contacted at 2nd Floor, Devonshire House, Riverside Road, Pottington Business Park, Barnstaple, EX31 1QN
  • The SYA Newsletter ‘Chatterbox’ is sent out to affiliated groups six times each year.
  • A range of leaflets provides help and advice on a number of matters relating to working with young people.
  • An equipment loan service is available.  Please see the resources page on this website.
  • Mini bus hire is available at reduced rates through Shropshire Council's transport fleet and driver permits can be arranged
  • We can provide help and advice on making grant applications

INFORMATION PACKS:

  • Policies and Practice: All the guidelines and policy statements required for good practice and insurance cover
  • Leaders Resources: Lots of ideas for programming and fundraising produced for Youth Leaders by a Youth Leader
  • Employing full or part-time staff:  Everything you need to consider when employing staff (full or part-time) including supervision, appraisal, grievance, disciplinary policies and procedures.

The Shropshire Youth Association is supported by many local, regional and national organisations


Our Staff Team looks like this

Richard Parkes - CEO - richard@sya.org.uk
Diane Phillips - Area Manager - di@sya.org.uk
Kerry Williams - Area Manager - kerry@sya.org.uk
Vanessa Postle - Youth Worker - vanessa@sya.org.uk
Mike York - Youth Support Worker -  mikey@sya.org.uk
Amanda Crane - Youth Support Worker - amanda.c@sya.org.uk
Amanda Hollinshead - Youth Support Worker - amanda@sya.org.uk
Teresa Dowgill - Youth Support Worker - teresa@sya.org.uk
Pat Bell - DBS & Financial Officer - pat@sya.org.uk
Liz Cowley - Admin - liz@sya.org.uk
Beryl Latter - Volunteer - beryl@sya.org.uk
2017-04-12 09:27:30
2017-06-15 10:51:03
2017-04-04 16:26:48
2017-11-01 09:16:28
2018-01-18 13:41:33
2017-11-29 08:55:08
2017-08-14 12:15:51