About us

Shropshire Youth Association is a Registered Charity and independent, voluntary organisation open to all VCS youth clubs in Shropshire.

Our Registered Charity number is 1172685



WE HAVE NOT LEFT YOU

During these unprecedented times when we are unable to open the doors of our Youth Clubs we are operating Virtual Youth Clubs.  For interaction and further information, please go to our Facebook pages.
Look forward to seeing you.



THE ASSOCIATION SETS OUT TO:

  • Provide training for leaders and young people
  • Provide information and resources to groups, leaders and young people
  • Provide a broad county-wide programme of events and activities
  • Support the development of existing groups
  • Encourage the groups, leaders and members to play an active role in the Association and its activities
  • Help new groups to get started
  • Advocate on behalf of young people #StandWithYouth

WHEN VISITING YOUR GROUP OUR SUPPORT WORKERS CAN PROVIDE:

  • Information on SYA activities and events
  • Support and training for club leaders and management committees
  • General help and advice
  • Help with specific problems
  • Specific programme inputs
  • Information on training opportunities
  • Advice and help with recruiting, selecting and training volunteers
  • Ideas and opportunities for increasing young people’s involvement

OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE TO AFFILIATED YOUTH GROUPS:

  • Insurance -  public liability insurance is an essential part of running a youth club. This, and a wide range of other policies, are available through Zurich Insurance plc, UK Branch, The Zurich Centre,       3000 Parkway, Whiteley, Fareham, Hampshire, PO15 7JZ
  • The SYA Newsletter ‘Chatterbox’ is sent out to affiliated groups four times each year.
  • A range of leaflets provides help and advice on a number of matters relating to working with young people.
  • An equipment loan service is available.  Please see the resources page on this website.
  • We can provide help and advice on making grant applications

INFORMATION PACKS:

  • Policies and Practice: All the guidelines and policy statements required for good practice and insurance cover
  • Leaders Resources: Lots of ideas for programming and fundraising produced for Youth Leaders by a Youth Leader
  • Employing full or part-time staff:  Everything you need to consider when employing staff (full or part-time) including supervision, appraisal, grievance, disciplinary policies and procedures.

The Shropshire Youth Association is supported by many local, regional and national organisations


Our HQ Staff Team looks like this

Richard Parkes - CEO - richard@sya.org.uk
Kerry Williams - Area Manager - kerry@sya.org.uk
Vanessa Postle - Area Manager - vanessa@sya.org.uk
Devon Peart - Professional Youth Worker - Stirchley & Brookside - devon@sya.org.uk
Becca Lewis - Professional Worker - Step Forward Programme - becca@sya.org.uk 
Alastair James - Professional Youth Worker - Tomorrow's Leaders - alastair@sya.org.uk
Jess Williams - Apprentice Youth Worker - Tomorrow's Leaders - jess@sya.org.uk

Pat Bell - Financial & DBS Officer - pat@sya.org.uk
Sanjotha Patil - Finance Officer - sanjotha@sya.org.uk
Liz Cowley - Admin - liz@sya.org.uk
Beryl Latter - Volunteer - beryl@sya.org.uk
Claire Organ - DBS & office assistant - claire@sya.org.uk